samuelson's diamonds diamond education

4C’s: Carat, Color, Clarity, Cut

When diamond experts evaluate a diamond, they look at four primary characteristics known as the 4C’s:

Carat weight – Color – Clarity – Cut

Keep reading to learn more about each of the 4C’s and how they help determine the value of a diamond.

Diamond Anatomy

diamond education diamond anatomy
  • Diameter: the width of the diamond as measured through the girdle
  • Table: the largest polished facet located on the top of the diamond
  • Crown: the top part of a diamond extending from the table to the girdle
  • Girdle: the edge of the diamond where the crown and pavilion meet.
  • Pavilion: the bottom part of a diamond that extends from the girdle down to the culet
  • Culet: the small or pointed facet at the very bottom of a diamond
  • Depth: the height of the diamond as measured from the table to the culet

Still Have Questions?

If you have questions about the 4C’s or any other aspect of choosing the perfect diamond, we’d love to help. Stop by our Baltimore store today or make an appointment with one of our diamond experts.

We can’t wait to help you find something you absolutely love!